4 Campuses + Distance Learning, 218 Courses, 34 Subjects
Follow us on TwitterLike us on FacebookVisit us on iTunesUSee what we've been up to on Flickr

Phone us on  0800 4 0 FEES (0800 4 0 3337) 0800 4 0 FEES  (0800 4 0 3337)
outside NZ +64 3 211 2699

Phone us on  0800 4 0 FEES (0800 4 0 3337) +64 3 214 4977  Email us at info@sit.ac.nzinfo@sit.ac.nz


Subjects A-Z


Object reference not set to an instance of an object.


Certificate - Level 1 & 2 (5th form & School Certificate / 6th form)
Certificates are normally programmes of study between 12 weeks and 1 year. Certificates are often required for entry level positions.

Diploma - Level 3 & 4 (7th form/Bursary), Level 5 & 6 
Diplomas are normally 1 or 2 years of study and are often necessary for advanced trades or technical and professional occupations. Some diplomas may be cross-credited towards degrees.

Bachelor's Degree - Level 5, 6 & 7
Degrees are Bachelor level qualifications and require specialist study in a particular subject area. A degree usually takes three years of study, covering levels 5, 6 and 7.

Graduate Certificates & Diplomas - Level 7
Graduate Certificates and Diplomas are available to applicants who have a degree (or in special circumstances the equivalent skills, knowledge and work experience), who want to gain further skills and knowledge in either a familiar or a new discipline. 

Postgraduate Diplomas, Postgraduate Certificates - Level 8
Postgraduate Diplomas and Certificates are available to applicants who have a degree in the same subject area (or in special circumstances the equivalent skills, knowledge and work experience).

Choosing Your Qualification

All qualifications offered at SIT are NZQA approved and accredited. After programmes are approved, NZQA monitors delivery to ensure the institution is delivering the programme as intended and to an acceptable standard.

The undergraduate and postgraduate (levels 7-10) NZQA qualifications that SIT can provide are:

The levels 1-6 NZQA qualifications that SIT can provide are:

  • Certificates can be used to help you prepare for either employment or further study and training.
  • Diplomas normally require two years of full-time study, though you can sometimes complete the qualification through part-time study. It can follow on from a certificate, or can be a stand-alone qualification.
  • New Zealand Certificates and Diplomas and National Certificates and National Diplomas recognise skills and knowledge that meet nationally endorsed unit and achievement standards. Only organisations that have been quality assured by NZQA can offer national certificates and diplomas.
  • STAR/Gateway programmes are only offered to NZ Secondary Schools

Changes to NZQA Qualification Titles

Titles of some qualifications listed on the New Zealand Qualifications Framework (NZQF) are changing. Over time, qualifications listed at levels 1-6 on the NZQF will have “New Zealand” in their titles. All qualifications – new, reviewed, and phased out of use – will still be listed under New Zealand Qualifications Framework (NZQF) and all are valid qualifications.