Hero image

SIT’s Zero Fees Scheme continues for 2023

Hero image
SIT’s Zero Fees Scheme continues for 2023

IMPORTANT DATES

Image

Find out when your study starts, when you have breaks and when graduation is. These dates will help you plan your study, holidays and important occasions.

Below are the semester dates for *most* courses at SIT. Please note, there will be numerous exceptions to these dates so please use the below as a guide only.


Domestic
International

2022

First Part of Semester (9 wks) 14 February – 14 April

Mid Semester Break 15 April – 1 May

Second Part of Semester (9 wks- 1 day short) 2 May – 1 July

Semester Break Monday 4 July – Friday 15 July

First Part of Semester (11 wks) 18 July – 30 September

Mid Semester Break 3 – 7 October

Second Part of Semester (6 wks) 10 October – 18 November

 
  • Award Ceremony
29 November 2022 (Civic Theatre)
  • Telford Campus
01 December 2022 (Telford Gymnasium)
  • Graduation Ceremonies (degree/diploma)
09 December 2022 (Civic Theatre)
  • Certificate Graduation (end-year)
15 December 2022 (SIT Velodrome)
  • Christchurch Campus and MAINZ Christchurch Graduation Ceremonies
16 December 2022 (Christchurch Boys’ High School, Christchurch)
  • MAINZ Auckland Ceremony (for 2022 graduates)
22 March 2023 (MAINZ Auckland Campus) 

 

 

National public holidays:

  • Waitangi Day: 6 Feb – observed 7 February
  • Easter:
    • Good Friday – 14 April
    • Easter Monday – 18 April
  • Southland Day – 19 April
  • ANZAC Day – 25 April
  • Queen’s Birthday – 6 June
  • Matariki – 24 June
  • Labour Day – 24 October

School Holidays:

  • 16 April – 1 May
  • 9 – 24 July
  • 1 – 16 October

2023

Event Dates
First Part of Semester (8 weeks – short 1 day) Monday 13 February – Thursday 06 April
Mid Semester Break Friday 07 April – Friday 21 April
Second Part of Semester (10 weeks) Monday 24 April – Friday 30 June
Semester Break Monday 03 July – Friday 14 July

 

 

 

 

 

Event Date
First Part of Semester (11 weeks) Monday 17 July – Friday 29 September
Mid Semester Break Monday 02 – Friday 06 October
Second Part of Semester (6 weeks) Monday 09 October – Friday 17 November

 

 

Event

Dates
  • MAINZ Auckland Ceremony (for 2022 graduates)
Wednesday 22 March (MAINZ Auckland Campus) 
  • Award Ceremony 
Tuesday 28 November (Civic Theatre)
  • Telford Campus
Thursday 30 November (tbc) (Telford Gymnasium)
  • Graduation Ceremonies (degree/diploma)
Friday 08 December (Civic Theatre)
  • Certificate Graduation (end-year)
Thursday 14 December (SIT Velodrome)
  • Christchurch Campus and MAINZ Christchurch Graduation Ceremonies
Tuesday 19 December

 

National public holidays Dates
Southland Anniversary Day 04 January (Wednesday)
Te Rā o Waitangi/Waitangi Day 06 February (Monday)
Easter Good Friday – 7 April
Easter Monday – 10 April
Education Day 11 April (Tuesday)
ANZAC Day 25 April (Tuesday)
King's Birthday 05 June (Monday)
Matariki 14 July (Friday)
Labour Day 23 October (Monday)

 

MAINZ Auckland Academic Year Dates 2023

Event Dates
First Part of Semester (7 weeks – short 1 day) Monday 20 February – Thursday 06 April
Mid Semester Break Monday 10 April – Friday 21 April
Second Part of Semester (10 weeks) Monday 24 April – Friday 30 June
Semester Break  (three weeks) Monday 03 July – Friday 21 July
Event Dates
First Part of Semester (9 weeks) Monday 24 July – Friday 22 September
Mid Semester Break Monday 25 September – Friday 06 October
Second Part of Semester (8 weeks) Monday 09 October – Friday 01 December

Learn More