News Articles & Media Releases

2019 Hokonui Fashion Design Awards

2019 marks the 31st anniversary of the MLT Hokonui Fashion Design Awards - a significant achievement as the longest running fashion design awards of their type in

New Zealand.  


Held in Gore in late July, the awards are firmly established as a key event on the national fashion calendar and continue to attract entries and interest from throughout New Zealand. Since 1988, the awards have been a competitive platform for all aspiring fashion designers to showcase their designs in front of well-regarded industry leaders. Over the previous years, the judging panel has included Karen Walker, Nic Blanchet, Francis Hooper, Trelise Cooper, Kate Sylvester, Liz Findlay, Doris Du Pont and Margi Robertson (of NOM*d).


In 2018, a record number of 200 entries were received and over 1,300 people attended the two evening shows. This year, the Mataura Licensing Trust have confirmed naming rights sponsorship, with the awards now known as the 2019 MLT Hokonui Fashion Design Awards.  There are also seven Gold Sponsors for 2019:

  • Southland Times
  • NZME. (Viva and Hokonui Radio)
  • Gore District Council
  • Southern Institute of Technology (SIT)
  • Mitchell Mackersy Law (Queenstown)
  • Girl Next Door (Queenstown)
  • FMG/Farmlands


This year sees the introduction of three new judges; Sally-Ann Mullin, Fashion Director at Bauer Media, Wynn Crashaw, designer and founder of Wynn Hamlyn and Sara Munro, designer and owner of Company of Strangers. 


Entries for the 2019 MLT Hokonui Fashion Design Awards are open and there are 11 sections open for entry across both Open and School categories

  1. Open Streetwear section
  2. Open Nightlife section
  3. Open Collections section
  4. Open Avante-Garde section
  5. Open Natural Fibres section
  6. Open Menswear section
  7. Open Recycled Section
  8. School Streetwear section
  9. School Nightlife section
  10. School Recycled section
  11. School Natural Fibres section

Entries are open until Tuesday 4th June and tickets to the two evening shows will be available from Wednesday 26th June.  The School section winners will be announced at the MLT Hokonui Strictly Design Evening on Friday 26th July, with the Open section winners announced at the MLT Hokonui Gala Awards Evening on Saturday 27 July.


For further information, interview requests and media enquiries, please contact Portia Campbell on 021 454 883 or



Established in 1988, the Hokonui Fashion Design Awards were originally organised by Biddy Kerr and her committee who, in conjunction with Radio 4ZG, wanted to showcase wool and fashion in Gore. 70 sketches were submitted of which 20 were selected to be made into garments for judging. Megan Buckingham from Gore was the first winner, with more than 240 people attending the first show on 1st December 1988.

Posted in: News
Actions: E-mail | Permalink |